Entry for March 25, 2007 – HD invades the Kendig’s – is it 480i, 720p or 1080i?

HDTV. I had to get an education.

The set is in the living room now, since Thursday night.

I used to watch everything through Tivo – but for the moment I’m only watching the HDTV.

PBS runs a channel with only 1080i resolution. March Madness is in 1080i. Leno and Letterman, 1080i. Parents say Today Show in the morning is in 1080i also. Even in 1080i broadcasts most adds are in 720p resolution.

Everything else appears to be 720p, including the network evening news.

Tivo is in 480i, I watch less of Tivo now :-).

Use this nice graph to get a sense of how the different resolutions pan out.

My parents in PA also now have an HDTV.

It seems 2007 will be the year of HDTV.

It’s DTK’s TV. Think of it as birthday booty.

2 Responses to “Entry for March 25, 2007 – HD invades the Kendig’s – is it 480i, 720p or 1080i?”

  1. mark Says:

    Did you get to watch the USA vs Ecuador game in HDTV?

    I thought Landon was great. His third goal was just a beauty. The USA fans need exciting goals like that one to cheer and talk about for days to come. I was very impressed by beasley’s pass. It was sent with the perfect pase and played at the right time.

  2. Tom Kendig Says:

    I was so busy refereeing this last weekend I missed the match!

    Just watched it tonight on Tivo. Donovan, three goals, what a match for him.

    For the record, the Canadian center referee made a mistake I am sure he was talked to about. The tackle on Donovan where he fell into the penalty area and the restart was from right at the edge of the penalty area. The defender should have been sent off for Denying an Obvious Goal Scoring Opportunity (DOGSO). If you call that foul, you have to send the player off. I send them off for that now and so did the Swiss referee in the world cup.

Leave a comment